- What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
- What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
- Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
- Where does the white ball go in pool?
- Are you allowed to move the white ball in pool?
- Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What’s the last ball you hit in pool?
- When can you move the ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch when you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What happens when you sink the white ball in pool?
- Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
If the cue ball is touching an object ball, the shooter must not play the cue ball in the direction of that ball.
It is a foul if on a stroke the cue ball fails to make contact with any legal object ball first.
Playing away from a touching ball does not constitute having hit that ball..
What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Where does the white ball go in pool?
Pocketing the Cue Ball In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.
Are you allowed to move the white ball in pool?
If the opposing player does not so inform the shooting player before the shot is made, the shot is considered legal. If the shooting player is informed of improper positioning, he must then reposition the cue ball.
Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
What’s the last ball you hit in pool?
You don’t pocket the 8-ball until the end of the game. When you have pocketed all your balls, you take aim at the 8-ball. The first player to pocket all his or her balls and then pocket the 8-ball is the winner.
When can you move the ball in pool?
3.31 BALLS MOVING SPONTANEOUSLY If an object ball drops into a pocket “by itself” as a player shoots at it, so that the cue ball passes over the spot the ball had been on, unable to hit it, the cue ball and object ball are to be replaced to their positions prior to the stroke, and the player may shoot again.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is it a scratch when you don’t hit a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. … If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
Currently voted the best answer. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
What happens when you sink the white ball in pool?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.