- How do you know where to hit the cue ball?
- Where do you place the cue ball on a scratch?
- Where do you place the white ball in pool?
- Should I look at the cue ball or object ball?
- Can you hit the cue ball backwards?
- What happens if cue ball is pocketed?
- What happens if the cue ball goes in?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
How do you know where to hit the cue ball?
Hitting the ball to the right will cause the cue ball to spin left (or counter-clockwise); hitting to the left will cause the ball to spin right (clockwise)..
Where do you place the cue ball on a scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Where do you place the white ball in pool?
When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. Bar Rules: Your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere they would like behind the head string.
Should I look at the cue ball or object ball?
You should always be looking at the target – the object ball – immediately before you shoot. … The target is the cue ball. The tip of your cue isn’t striking the object ball. If your aim is good and you hit the cue ball where you intended, the object ball will find the pocket.
Can you hit the cue ball backwards?
When playing pool, there is no forward or backward. Forward is essentially whatever direction your cue is pointing when making the shot. This means that during normal play, there is no such thing as a backward shot. … Often house rules require that when the cue ball is in hand, it must be shot from behind the string.
What happens if cue ball is pocketed?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
What happens if the cue ball goes in?
Balls must remain in a pocket to count as pocketed. If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
A table scratch occurs when a player fails to hit an object ball with the cue ball. Meaning the cue ball can hit cushions but still be considered a foul if it doesn’t contact an object ball.